The First One

Glacier photo

My name is Kelly.  My friends call me KJ.  I am a wife to an incredibly fun and supportive husband, and a mom to a wild little two year old and soon to be new baby.  I am also a CrossFitter.  I have had a healthy obsession with health and fitness since high school, but this obsession was catapulted to new extremes when I discovered CrossFit in 2008.  Since then, I have helped open and run two different CrossFit gyms, become part of the Level One staff, and competed in the CrossFit Games.  Even larger events in my life since then have included my wedding day and the birth of our daughter in May of 2012.

The problem is I have found myself falling in to the category most new parents do- the one where you regularly use the excuse of, “I have been up half the night- I don’t have to workout now, AND I think I have earned and thoroughly deserve to eat this giant bowl of Cocoa Puffs”.   The excuses are never ending, and throw in living in three different states since we had our daughter, and I can add even more to the list!  Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t completely stop working out during the last two years- I was back at regular body weight the day I got home from the hospital with my daughter as well.  I just feel like I have thrown in the towel and I owe my family more than that.  I need to demonstrate to my children what a truly healthy lifestyle is, and need to include my husband in that as well.

Over the last two years, I have received a new e-mail or Facebook message from women all over the U.S. about once every ten days sharing with me their new pregnancy news and asking what I changed in my WOD’s throughout the pregnancy.  I share with them the wonderful website, www.crossfitmom.com, as well as what worked and did not work for me.  Safety is key, and I am no doctor!  I am so honored these women would seek me out and trust my coaching ability enough to ask me such questions that I always share these messages with my husband, Tanner.  Every time I do, he tells me, “you should really just start a blog”.  At first I laughed and was terrified of the simple thought of it.  It has taken me about six months of thought to finally break down and do it.  I am a pretty private person, and not a very good writer, but I am going to do this anyway.

This blog will be for all the mamas, old and new, out there who are having trouble getting back in to their fitness rhythm.  I don’t care if you are a CrossFitter, a bodybuilder, a triathlete, pilates master, or avid step class participant-if I can help just one mama out their feel better about herself because she got back after it for her health and to be a better role model for her little ones, my mission is accomplished.

On Saturday I will be 34 weeks in to my second pregnancy.  In the time from now until this little bean decides to fly out of me and in to this bright and sunny world, I plan on sharing with you what I have done during my pregnancies to stay fit in a safe way for my baby.  After the baby comes, I am going to take two weeks to rest and bond with this beautiful little creature.  However, after that two weeks of bliss (if all is well and I get the go from my doctor), I am going to return to my WOD’s and Zone diet.  I am setting a goal of nursing for eight months- that is how long my milk lasted with my first, and I am hoping to make that same amount of time, so I will need to gear my nutrition in such a way that allows this.  I will share with you when the time comes exactly how I plan to accomplish this, and how I tweak things along the way to maintain my milk.  My goal is to write at least one post per week for the next year.  I will share with you my measurements, nutrition, workouts, and some lovely photos (most likely taken at four in the morning).  I have decided, to keep myself on track, that I will participate in at least one competitive athletic event every six weeks, and am hoping my husband will join me as well.

My year of weekly posts will end at the beginning of the CrossFit Open in one year.  My overall goal is to have my family cheering for me in the stands at Regionals next year, and I want to walk in as one of the top ten women in the Region.  The most important things in my life are my husband and babies, but this mama is making a change.  I am making myself take 60 minutes each day to work on my fitness, and will be Zoning my food to the perfect proportions.  I am doing this for my family- to set a better example of what a healthy lifestyle is.  Any data that I am able to collect I will share with you- and please go easy on my writing skills (or lack there of), I was a science major!

5 thoughts on “The First One

  1. Becky Swanson

    Hi Kelly! Thanks so much for sharing this! It’s ironic that you posted this and I came across it this morning because I am FINALLY getting back into a workout routine after having my babies. I have totally used having babies as my excuse for putting my fitness on the “back burner”. Actually, it kind of started waning after my hubby and I got married and we settled in and got comfy 😉 Isaac and I just started going back to Lifetime and hopefully we can keep it up! I am so glad I can use your blog as motivation and inspiration to keep at it. Thanks again for sharing your story, and good luck with the new little one! Tell Tanner, Stella, Maddie and George “Hello!” from the Swansons! We miss having you guys as neighbors 🙂

    Reply
  2. Joylyn

    Hi chica, I love your start here! Welcome to Colorado and I hope to see more of you. Which is hard to happen since we both have munchkins, but maybe just maybe 🙂 I can’t wait to see your story here and watch you progress. I think those goals are totally reasonable and attainable and you will continue to inspire more mamas around like me. I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about how my body, life and fitness have changed since having my daughter. I used to have great control over how my body felt, moved and performed by taking care of what real food in zone proportions went into it, how much sleep I got, what my workout routine was, etc. After my husband, having her and switching jobs have been the best thing to ever happen to me, yet they’ve also been the hardest on me personally much of the time. Despite working out my entire pregnancy using CrossFit Mom and returning to reasonable movements 2 weeks postpartum I suffered an injury and my thyroid has basically stopped working, making weight loss despite Zone difficult and frustrating. But at the end of the day, I have to remember that I’ve got an amazing, healthy daughter who loves me just as I am. I still hit some PRs occasionally few and far between, but slowly on the road back. But I have to be honest, I really want another child but am scared of the consequences to my body and self-image. Thank you for being another great role model in the community and I can’t wait to hear more from you 🙂

    Reply
  3. Matt Kultgen

    That’s awesome Kelly! Great stuff! Congrats on the new pregnancy and I am more then positive we will all see you as a top 10 regional athlete again real soon! You are as always, inspirational and motivational 🙂

    Reply
  4. Ari

    Love that you are doing this Kelly…..no I am not pregnant…..maybe one day Todd will talk me into it! But, I love hearing your great advice on all things fitness! It is you who helped inspire me to do better in classes, to do better with my eating, and to look at fitness in a different way. Thanks for being such a great role model to many of us, and I will be cheering loudly from the stands (or the coziness of my living room), when you make it to Regionals next year!!

    PS…..if I do get pregnant, you will be the person I look to for advice!

    Reply
  5. Christal Widman

    KJ!!!! This is fantastic!!!! You are such a wonderful inspiration! Wish I had this blog while I was pregnant & post-prego! What a gift you are! Looking forward to meeting baby #2! We love & miss you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

