Augustus is here!

It has been an exciting week. Last Monday, March 31, I headed in for my 37 week check-up. My in-laws have been in town, so I brought some errands to my appointment with me- a couple things to exchange for my MIL, and a Costco grocery list. Little did I know, ten minutes after checking in for my appointment, I would be sitting at the doctor’s desk, listening to him call over to Labor and Delivery, telling them I was on my way over! Twelve hours and a lot of excitement later, I was holding our brand new baby boy in my arms. What an incredible feeling. But you know what was even better? Two days later, when I was up at five in the morning, nursing this brand new baby in one arm, and holding my almost two year old in my other arm. I don’t think my heart could me more filled with love right now. I am one lucky lady to have such a wonderful husband and two beautiful children!

familyintro babyauggs

Now I know I promised last week I would share with you all of my plans for the summer and fall for fun athletic events! However, since Auggie (our handsome little man) arrived this week, I thought it would be better to share with you my short term plans for my recovery time and slowly stepping back in to some exercise while it is fresh in my mind. Auggie was born April 1 at 12:13 AM, so since I promised my husband I would take a solid two weeks to recover before hopping back on the exercise band-wagon, I plan on starting Monday, April 14. Keep in mind, I completely lucked out and had a very easy labor, so for any mamas out there who weren’t so lucky, please plan on taking more time off and listen to your body! April 14 is my goal, but if I am not quite ready, I fully intend on waiting a little longer.

First performance goal post pregnancy: 5K Run

So while shopping around for some fun activities to do in the Denver area post baby, I stumbled across what I thought would be my perfect first event. It is something I can train for with my kids, and I knew, if I didn’t have a C-section, it would be something I could reasonably do. And the most exciting part? I convinced my husband to do it with me! We are participating in the Mother’s Day 5K, May 11. It just seemed too perfect to not sign up for. My goal is not to PR my 5K time, but to simply run the entire thing. The race is six weeks after little Auggie was born, so with two weeks down time, that gives me four weeks to prepare. I am pumped, and the best part is, we will be doing it as a family, as our super-awesome double jogger showed up last week. More details to come on how the preparation and race go!

First nutrition goal post pregnancy: Getting back on THE ZONE!

I love to eat, and I mean really, really love it. I have a huge weakness for cheeseburgers and cocoa puffs. Not together, you crazies! That is just plain weird. I love cheeseburgers any time, but cocoa puffs are definitely the best midnight snack, even more so when you are up nursing a brand new little munchkin in the wee hours of the night. My plan is to start zone proportions of food the same day I start back at training. If you have never heard of the Zone Diet (it is amazing), I am adding some links to information about it at the end of this blog post, please check them out and shoot me any questions you have! I normally eat 13 blocks per day while training, but since I am nursing, I am going to start with 15 to make sure I am getting plenty of nutrition to keep up my milk supply, and will adjust as needed as I go along. I plan on eating “real food” (anything without an ingredients label), plus a small amount of dairy (I have a Greek yogurt and cottage cheese problem), rice, and bread. I just don’t have the time to sit around chewing vegetables all day while chasing around two little ones! I will start photos and measurements two weeks post-partum as well, so my body has some time to heal and get rid of all the crazy fluids we build up during pregnancy and labor.

I promise next week to release my schedule of intended athletic events I plan on participating in over the summer and early fall. If you know of anything fun you think I would enjoy or be challenged by in the Denver area, please shoot it my way! I would love any help from you guys. Also, if any of you would like to join me in any event, please message me, I would love that! Hope you all have an awesome weekend, please feel free to leave me feedback in the comments section, I would love to get your input and experiences here! This is for all the mamas out there!

Zone Resources:

CrossFit Journal Article 21:   http://journal.crossfit.com/2004/05/zone-meal-plans-crossfit-journ.tpl

Zone website: http://www.zonediet.com

The Zone Diet explained: http://crossfitimpulse.com/the-zone-diet-explained-edited

bellapic

One thought on “Augustus is here!

  1. Lisa

    I’m so happy for you and your sweet family. I admire your determination to stay healthy and fit. Very inspiring!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

