Ready, Set, Go!

Random thought of the week: why is it that when you are pregnant, everyone runs to help you with doors, groceries, you name it, but when you have had the baby and are struggling carrying a car seat filled with said beautiful munchkin as well as a two year old beautiful munchkin, no one bats an eye? Pregnancy is the best fitting weight vest one can find, while post-partum, you are awkwardly carrying a variety of plates and kettlebells. I will always run to aid a mom now! (and a super pregger too) Just a random thought!

I can’t believe it has already been almost two weeks since Auggie was born. Even though chasing our daughter, Stella, around while carrying him is a workout in itself, I can’t tell you how much I am looking forward to getting back in my garage gym during nap time! With my body slowly morphing back to its normal self (with a few new and improved “snap-crackle-pops”), I know the best way to start giving it a tune up is through movement. I have completed my first few weeks of programming my workouts, with full intentions of editing as necessary. My first week includes a beautiful symphony of light running, pull ups, push-ups, light kettlebell and barbell work, short box jumps, modified air squats (to a safe depth for my current ability), the ever-feared burpee, and my beloved, the rower. As promised in my first blog post, I plan on posting my measurements along with photos as I progress back to fitness. I plan on sharing this information (scary!) every other Monday, starting this coming Monday, April 14.

Here is my schedule of monthly athletic events I plan on participating in over the next six months:

May 11, 2014: Mother’s Day 5K, Denver, CO

June 15, 2014: CrossFit Cherry Creek Triple Threat Competition, Denver, CO (any takers on who would want to be on my team? This one is still up in the air!)

July 13, 2014: Missoula Half Marathon, Missoula, MT (I ran this race when I was 23, before I was a CrossFitter and weighed 30 pounds less than my CrossFit Competition weight. I am hoping to set a PR on this course!)

August 16, 2014: Scottish Festival and Rocky Mountain Highland Games, Denver, CO (because who wouldn’t want to attempt throwing a caber in a kilt?)

September, 2014: Fall Frenzy Sprint Triathlon, Parker, CO (I am absolutely TERRIFIED to swim 500 meters- I definitely need to wipe this one off the list!)

October, 2014: CrossFit 307 Throwdown, Casper, WY (I did this last year when I was 17 weeks pregnant and it was a blast! CF307 did an outstanding job programming and running this event- I can’t wait to do it again with my super team)

highland games throwdown t shirt

That should certainly be six months of motivation and trying new things! If anyone knows of any fun events you think I would like to challenge myself with, please list them in the comments below and I will try to throw them on the schedule if they are doable and not too pricy. Also, if anyone would like to join me in a competition or for just a WOD, please comment or e-mail as well!

One more thing- I have failed you all in posting recipes regularly! Here is a copy of my favorite “Paleo Banana Bread” recipe. It is from the Mark’s Daily Apple website and has never failed me! I have switched out the bananas for an equal amount of applesauce before for a fun change and it is delish. You can also crunch the numbers and fit it easily in to a Zone friendly meal as it is mostly fat and carbs! Let me know what you think!

banana muffins

Paleo Banana Bread: Gluten, Grain, and Dairy Free!

2 cups Almond Flour (I like to just toss raw almonds in the food processor for a grainier texture)

¼ cup Flaxseed Meal

2 tsp Cinnamon

1 tsp Baking Soda

1 tsp Baking Powder

2/3 cup Chopped Nuts (pecans or walnuts are delish)

4 Ripe Bananas

2 tbsp Honey

4 Eggs

1 tsp Vanilla Extract

Directions:

1-      Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

2-      Sift the dry ingredients together in a large bowl.

3-      In a separate bowl, add the mashed bananas, eggs, honey, and vanilla and mix well.

4-      Make a well in the dry ingredients and pour in the wet ingredients. Stir until combined. Normally with breads or muffin recipes, you don’t want to over-mix, but since there’s no gluten here, mix to your heart’s content. The muffins won’t get gummy or icky.

5-      Fill greased muffin tins, baking cups, mini loaf pans, or big loaf pans about ¾ full. Bake muffins for 23-25 minutes and loaves for 30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

6-      Let cool slightly and enjoy with a pat of almond butter, coconut oil, or butter. Yum!

3 thoughts on “Ready, Set, Go!

  1. Aubree Unterseher

    It is going to be a fun filled summer for you- the comp line up sounds great Kelly!! Happy for you!

    Reply
  2. Ariana

    Sounds like it is going to be a busy summer Kelly! What is the Triple Threat Competition about??? If you need someone…I may down for a comp this summer!!! It will help me stay calm before the wedding in July!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

