The Beast…

You know what is way harder than you would think it would be?  Pushing a double stroller with two kids in it…up-freaking-hill!  My first competitive event (not all that competitive, but the perfect starting point) is this weekend: the Mother’s Day 5K.  I have been running two to three days a week in preparation, and last week thought I better take the kiddos in the double jogger, because that is how I will be running in the race.  Wow is it challenging!  The jogger weighs 49 pounds.  Stella weighs 26.  Augustus weighs about 10, and is in his 8 pound carseat.  That is a   total of 93 pounds to push.  I live in a very hilly neighborhood, so no matter what way I decide to go, I am going to have some serious hills to push that bad boy up.  What a great training tool complete with two training buddies who love to be outside.  Just don’t run with it up hill with a full stomach- you may run in to trouble!
DSC_1031DSC_0988
Along with the stroller issue, I have another issue.  It is more of a problem, really.  It is a Target problem.  Like most females age 3 days to 93 years, Target is like the Bermuda Triangle for your checking account.  I try to limit myself to visiting this beautiful place once a week.  However, we live about a mile and a half from one, so you can see where this problem is going.  This week I created a new rule: the only way I am allowed to go to Target is if I push the kids in the double jogger there.  I see two solutions with this rule: one: I will get better at pushing that suburban sized beast  up hill (and not letting it drag me down hill).  Two: you can only put so many items in the basket under the jogger, fixing the spending problem!  Boom!  How creative is that?

Now on to the nutrition and exercise update.  I have been working really hard to stay on track with Zoning, and am feeling great.  However, last week was not only my birthday, but my sister visited as well.  Having guests (and super fun ones at that!) definitely make things challenging with the whole “diet” thing. You don’t want to be the lame hostess who prepares a fun meal but then sits down with her grilled chicken and steamed broccoli in the corner, but you don’t want to loose track either! Lucky for me, my sis is a healthy eater, and was totally up for eating lean meats and a ton of vegis for every meal.  It also reminded me of how great the Zone Diet is because you can Zone anything!  For example, we went out for lunch a couple times, and I was able to Zone meals (the best I could).  I had hamburgers with  no bun, a side salad, and sweet potato fries (tho I only got to eat about four!).  I will not lie to you though, since it was my birthday last week, I went out on a hot date with the husband and enjoyed a steak with bread and dessert and it was INCREDIBLE (but gave me major stomach issues!).  Long story short, you CAN stay with the Zone when eating out, having visitors, and going to parties, just please don’t be the nerd in the corner weighing and measuring their 7 layer dip!  When there is a special event, like turning 30 (wow I am getting up there!), embrace it and eat a piece of cake, and make it a big one.

My workouts continue to feel better and better.  I do feel like a bowl of Rice Krispies when I squat though- I feel like every joint in my body is “snap-crackle-popping” back in to place as I descend hamstrings to calves and back up again.  I am still keeping my weights incredibly light and focusing on maintaining technique at all times.  It is crazy how revived I feel after spending some time in the garage gym, throwing around a little weight, getting my hands back in shape for gymnastics, listening to the hum of the rower as I jam out to “80’s Rock Radio” on Pandora.  Though I feel incredibly weak still, and am no where near where I know I am capable of being performance-wise, each day I am feeling my body slowly find it’s tempo again.  Each day I feel that fire deep inside of me slowly get brighter and brighter.  And you know what the coolest part is?  Watching both of my babies  nap on the video monitor as I work to be the best I can be again, and I am doing it for them, for my family.

This Sunday is the first test of my return to health and fitness.  Tanner and I are running the Mother’s Day 5K in downtown Denver Sunday morning at 9 AM.  Looking for some cheap entertainment?  Come watch me push the beastly double jogger for five kilometers! Any bets on my time?  My PR 5K (given it was in high school!) is 20:11.  I will give a big ol’ cyber high five to whoever can guess my time!  Have a great night everyone, KJ OUT!
runHere I am running!  Any fellow CrossFitters might be able to identify some of the amazing women in this photo!

One thought on “The Beast…

Leave a Reply

